top of page


Restriction of Hazardous Substances

About RoHS Certification

Restriction of Hazardous Substances (RoHS), also known as European Union Directives (2002/95/EC, 2011/65/EU, 2015/863/EU) aimed to restrict the use of specific materials found in electrical and electronic products. These specific materials are hazardous to the environment and pollute landfills and are dangerous in terms of occupational exposure during manufacturing and recycling.

RoHS is applicable for

Any business that sells applicable electronic products, sub-assemblies or components directly to EU countries, or sells to resellers, distributors or integrators that in turn sell products to EU countries, is impacted if they utilize any of the restricted materials.

RoHS restricted substances

RoHS specifies maximum levels for the following 10 restricted substances

  1. Lead (Pb): < 1000 ppm

  2. Mercury (Hg): < 100 ppm

  3. Cadmium (Cd): < 100 ppm

  4. Hexavalent Chromium: (Cr VI) < 1000 ppm

  5. Polybrominated Biphenyls (PBB): < 1000 ppm

  6. Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers (PBDE): < 1000 ppm

  7. Bis(2-Ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP): < 1000 ppm

  8. Benzyl butyl phthalate (BBP): < 1000 ppm

  9. Dibutyl phthalate (DBP): < 1000 ppm

  10. Diisobutyl phthalate (DIBP): < 1000 ppm

Product categories impacted under the RoHS

  1. Large household appliances

  2. Small household appliances

  3. IT and telecommunications equipment

  4. Consumer equipment

  5. Lighting equipment

  6. Electrical and electronic tools (with the exception of large-scale stationary industrial tools)

  7. Toys, leisure and sports equipment

  8. Medical devices (with the exception of all implanted and infected products) *

  9. Monitoring and control instruments*

  10. Automatic dispensers*

  11. : all other electronic and electrical equipment (EEE) not covered under the other categories **

*Compliance deadline for Category 8,9 products for RoHS 3 phthalate restriction is July 22, 2021
** Compliance deadline for Category 11 products for RoHS 3 phthalate restriction is July 23, 2019

For detailed list refer the Annex IB.


Product categories are exempted under RoHS Directive

  1. Large stationary tool

  2. Control and monitoring equipment

  3. National security use and military equipment

  4. Medical devices

  5. Some

  6. Spare parts for electronic equipment in the market before July 1, 2006.

Directive 2002/95/EC (RoHS)

Restricts the use of first six hazardous materials found in electrical and electronic products. Applicable records are to be maintained to demonstrate the compliance. This directive came to effect from July 1, 2006 must pass RoHS compliance.


Directive 2011/65/EU (RoHS 2)

RoHS scope was expanded to cover all electrical/electronic equipment, cables, and spare parts. Compliance required includes recordkeeping (which must be kept for 10 years) can include a conformity assessment, CE marking, maintenance of compliance throughout production, and self-reporting of non-compliance.

RoHS 2 took effect January 2, 2013.


Directive 2015/863 (RoHS 3)

Four additional restricted substances (phthalates from 7-10) to the original list of six.


Deccan Consulting' offers services in enhancing the systems and capabilities for optimising performance and productivity, comply with the requirements for polices, standards, assessments and certifications. Get in touch with us to get more information about our consultancy services.

Get in Touch
bottom of page